Netherlands Antilles


When the Netherlands Antilles was formed in 1954, uniting the islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Sint Eustatius, and Saba, into one country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, it first used the anthem of the Netherlands as the national anthem, and then, in 1964, Bonaire‘s anthem was used without words. Due to differences between the islands, the anthem of the Netherlands Antilles was not that popular on the other islands (aside from, of course Bonaire). In 2000, a new national anthem was written not tied to any of the other islands. This untitled work was written by Zahira Hiliman from Sint Maarten, and translated into the native Papiamento language by Lucille Berry-Haseth of Curaçao.

In 2000, 2004, and 2005, all the islands of the Netherlands Antilles have voted to either become separate nations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands (like Aruba did in 1986) or become a separate municipality within the Netherlands, which led to the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in October, 2010. The anthem was therefore no longer used in any official capacity.

Special thanks to: Kim Irausquin for some of this information.