Congo, Republic of


Like its neighbour to the east of the same name (see Congo, Dem. Rep. of) the Rep. of Congo (sometimes called Congo (Brazzaville), to distinguish the two nations) re-adopted its original anthem in 1991, which was originally adopted upon independence in 1959 and and was used until Dec. 31, 1969.

It is unclear as to who the composer and lyricist are for this anthem, some sources give the authors as Jacques Tondra and Georges (Levent) Kibanghi, with Jean Royer and Joseph Spadilière as the composers, and some list Kibanghi as the sole lyricist and Tondra as the sole composer.

Special thanks to: Jean-Francois Blanc for some of this information and to Jaroslaw Wojcik for the sheet music.