Having achieved independence in 1975, a different anthem was used until this anthem was adopted in 1978. Both anthems mention the four islands in the Comoros, however, only three are internationally recognized as part of the Comoros, France still retains control over Mayotte (known as Maori (or Maoré) in the anthem).